Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statment

Investments in railway construction are often considered preferable to building roads by many. This approach could prove highly beneficial in densely populated areas but may not be as useful in rural ones. This essay aims to explore this issue and provide reasons to support either side. On one hand, rail-based transport is vastly more effective in big cities and helps to alleviate traffic and reduce congestion. Modern trains transport masses comfortably. In Singapore, 86% of the population utilizes public railway transport daily to commute to work and home. As per the National Statistics Department, most Singaporeans do not consider purchasing cars. Therefore, in areas with limited transportation options, investing in public transport, such as subways, is an apt decision for the government. On the contrary, this mode of transportation fails to serve extensive regions that comprise multiple small towns and villages due to the financial ramifications. To construct and uphold a sprawling and intricately interlinked railway system would incur exorbitant costs and fall short of satisfying the populace's needs. For example, in the United Kingdom, the majority of people favour using personal cars and public planes to achieve their goals, instead of relying on trains. This is due to the high population density of small towns and rural areas, which doesn't warrant expensive investments into railways. Thus, investing in large railway networks will not prove lucrative for big countries such as Canada or the United Kingdom, in the near future. In conclusion, it is evident that train-based transportation is a viable option for small land countries such as South Korea or Singapore. For others, a balanced approach should be taken, utilizing taxpayers' money prudently to construct railways for cargo trains and roads for citizens. This will serve as an example of the system used in the United States.