Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

It's argued that schools should pay more attention to students ' academic success in exams instead of teaching cooking, sewing and crafting skills as they can be acquired from relatives and friends. This essay strongly disagrees with the opinion because these skills support a well-rounded education for all students and can contribute to a stable income in the future. It's undeniable that culinary, sewing or wood-making classes make up a well-rounded education for students besides the traditional academic subjects. In the learning process of these skills, pupils can apply knowledge from other classes and take on numerous soft skills. For example, learning about culinary can help combine a myriad of information from biology into understanding how different food combinations affect our bodies, practice making meal plans and prepare healthy dishes on their own. Another reason for my disagreement is that we're experiencing the rising number of unemployed people due to the Covid-19 pandemic and the global financial crisis. Therefore, students who are able to excel in numerous skills can help a student have more diverse career paths and ensure a continuous source of income without depending on a sole job. For instance, after being laid off in their 30s, a couple in China recently became an Internet sensation for utilizing their cooking skills to successfully change their positions from software developers to street food merchants. In conclusion, this essay strongly disagrees with the belief that schools should only focus on students ' academic success instead of teaching them life skills such as cooking or crafting. The reason is that these subjects add up to a well-rounded education for the students and can ensure them a more stable income in the future.