It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviours to children?

It is considered by some people that punishment should be involved in teaching children the difference between right and wrong. I totally agree with this belief as unpleasant experiences like punishment could help children avoid committing things that cause them to be penalized. In order to teach good behaviours to children without facing further hassles, some light punishments should be taken. To commence with, punishing children while educating them results in deeper understanding and faster learning. This is because children hold an abhorrence towards punishments as they are usually uncomfortable, painful or boring. Therefore, if they are punished for doing something wrong, they will immediately understand that it is not something they are meant to do and will prevent doing it in the future. For example, many Asian children growing up being scowled at and hit by their parents when they cannot solve a math problem have shown better information intake later when they are grown. That said, it is not true to say that all kinds of penalties could be used when teaching. Some punishments, such as violence like hitting and smacking, may bring about adverse effects. Thus, it is highly advised for parents and teachers to take some light punishment if aim for quicker absorption in children. For example, instead of publically criticising a student for not performing well enough, more assignments and homework could be given as a form of punishment. Parents may reduce their children ’s TV time or not allow them to hang out with friends if they fall short of their expectations. All in all, disciplining children when teaching them can lead to better results. However, to help them distinguish good and bad things but still prevent undesired consequences, only light punishment should be carried out.