It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as parks and squares, Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that public venues are beneficial for the residents of any town or country. Personally, I completely agree with this view for a variety of reasons. Firstly, having public spaces located in cities or towns can build a sense of community. An illustration of this is the bonding activities that residents can enjoy together. This can be beneficial as it develops social skills and also allows individuals to have space and create beautiful memories with their preferred members. For example, the United States has shown better mental health rates of residents after placing several parks in their living areas. Furthermore, this is also an opportunity for residents to relax and enjoy nature. Secondly, public areas can improve the overall convenience for local residents. Public spaces can reduce the need to travel far to reach a hanging-out destination as the space is free and is located in the centre of the city for everyone. Research in 2019 showed that 30% more individuals come outside to enjoy the local venues instead of staying inside their houses. As a result of this, the overall mental state improved and local economies also developed rapidly as well. Besides, this potentially can improve the environmental state of the city as well due to the decreasing use of transportation and greenhouse gas emissions. In conclusion, it is relevant to have public locations for residents to enjoy because of the convenience and pleasure it brings. In my opinion, having at least one local place in a city such as a park can significantly improve the quality of life.