Some pro say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the perception of certain individuals, extinction of specific species of animals and plants is the major environmental challenge currently. Others assert that, there are more significant environmental issues. This essay concurs with the former viewpoint because some plants and animals species play a key role in maintaining a balanced ecosystem, however both views will be discussed. On the one hand, air pollution is an existing factor which endangers our environment. Emmissions from industries, vehicles, and other human activities such as smoking cigarettes lead to poor air quality, where as causes respiratory diseases when inhaled, however, I think air pollution is not the most serious environmental factor we are facing today since measures are being put in place by the government to curb it. Conversely on the other hand, loss of plants and animals species lead to a disruption in the ecosystem. This can impact food webs, ecological relationships and the functioning of the ecosystem. Furthermore, this disruption can affect the availability of resources and vital services provided by the ecosystem. For instance, if lions become extinct, the species it used to prey on such as deers become over abundance and can lead to overgrazing which may alter the balance of the earth's ecosystem. Since humans depend on a well balanced ecosystem to provide them with necessary resources like clean air, fresh water, and medicine, I think protecting plants and animals should be an utmost priority. In conclusion, even though air pollution affects our environment, I think protection of plants and animals should be given more attention since it will destroy the balance of the ecosystem.