Some people say that the main environmental problem our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the perception of certain individuals, extinction of specific species of plants and animals is the major environmental challenges currently. Others assert that there are more significant environmental issues. This essay agrees with the former view point because some plants and animal species play a key role in maintaining a balanced ecosystem, however both views will be discussed. On the one hand, air pollution is an existing factor which endangers our environment. Emmissions from industries, vehicles and other human activities such as smoking cigarettes lead to poor air quality, where as when inhaled causes respiratory diseases however, I believe air pollution is not the most serious environmental problem we are facing today since measures are already being put in place by the government to curb it. Conversely on the other hand, loss of plants and animals species lead to a disruption in the ecosystem. This can affect food webs, ecological relationships and the functioning of the ecosystems. Furthermore, this disruption can affect the availability of resources and vital services provided by the ecosystem. For instance if lions become extinct, the species it used to prey on such as deers become over abundance and leads to overgrazing, which may alter the the balance of the earth's ecosystem. Humans depend on a well balanced ecosystem to provide them with necessary resources like clean air, fresh water and medicine, therefore I think protection of plants and animal species should be an utmost priority. In conclusion, even though air pollution affects our environment, I think protecting plants and animal species should be given more attention since it significantly destroys the balance of the ecosystem.