Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing important. What problems dose this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

In the past few years, the limited amount of freshwater has caused great concern and has become a global issue leading to constraints among nations. This essay will discuss the problems caused by the lack of clean water such as health issues and political constraints. The essay will also provide suggestions on how this issue could be solved. First and foremost, one of the major problems caused by this shortage is the conflicts between nations regarding water. Countries where there is a scarcity of water have been fighting over water. This has led to political strain. For instance, Egypt, Sudan and Ethiopia have been fighting over the usage of the water in the River Nile. In addition, lack of fresh water has led to the spread of water -related diseases such as diarrhoea. This has negatively affected the health of the citizens. Despite knowing the consequences of consuming dirty water, society has no other option so they continue with this unhealthy action causing more unnecessary deaths. Moreover, insufficient clean water has caused the price of water to increase significantly. This has affected the poor badly causing a fall in their quality of life. Water is a basic necessity but this necessity has now become unaffordable for many poor people all over the world. There are many ways to tackle such problems. Firstly, one of the ways to combat water shortage is to limit population growth. Developing countries should educate their community regarding birth control and it should encourage family planning. The lesser the population growth, the lower the demand for water is likely to be. Furthermore, it is important to educate the nation that saving water is important. Long baths in the tubs should be discouraged; leaked pipes should be fixed immediately and taps should be turned off at all times when not in need. These small changes in the daily routines of humans may have a significant impact on solving global water issues. Additionally, nations should come up with strategies to share water so that the world can be protected from wars and conflicts. In conclusion, the limitation of fresh water is a huge problem that affects a lot of people, especially those with small earnings who cannot afford clean water. The cause of this problem mainly comes from a rise in the populace and the careless usage of water. Every problem can be fixed with the cooperation of individuals.