Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are those who support the idea that schools should include religious topics in their curriculum, while others disagree and believe it is better if schools avoid it. In this essay, I will discuss both sides, along with some examples and my opinion on the matter. On the one hand, some people believe that religions should be included in school curriculum because it will certainly benefit our society in the long term. Firstly, all religions encourage people to be good citizens and avoid stealing and hurting people which are considered to be the fundamental of good people. For example, Buddhism provides a lot of moral precepts such as the five precepts. If all of these are included in school education, it will be beneficial to the students because children will get a chance to study good morals. I completely agree with this, I believe that if schools educate and cultivate religious topics, our society will be more peaceful, and there will be fewer crimes. On the other hand, others disagree with the idea and believe it is not suitable for children to learn religions at school because they may think it is an uncomfortable and sensitive topic, especially for young kids. In addition, learning the religion may cause violence because two people have different opinions and different beliefs. All of these should be considered and it may not be the best choice to learn religious topics at school. To conclude, while teaching religions in schools has a positive effect on some content; however, there are drawbacks too, as explained above. To repeat, I totally agree that religion should be in the school curriculum for the reasons provided earlier.