“Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?”

The question whether books should remain the main focus of public libraries has long been a subject of debate. Public spaces have little resources available and some may argue that it is not fair to waste them on high-tech media. Although it is correct to limit a library own expenses, libriarians should reinvent their spaces in order to keep them popular. 61 Not so longa ago, public libraries where fundamental to different type of people, from the student needing to consult encyclopedias to the retired man who just wants to read the daily journals. Nowadays, due to social media, libraries risk to become outdated and useless. This is why it is essential to modernize these spaces. High-tech media can enhance the library experience in various ways. Through a public computer, the visitors can view the library's catalogue or use programs to study or for their projects. Videos or DVDs can be used for educational purposes too, and make the library accessible to visually impaired people. The use of high-tech media in public libraries can be extremely useful but it should be a balance between books and new technologies. A library is supposed to be a quiet and peaceful place, where people can lose themselves through arrays of books. Too much tecnology in this enviroment can ruin the experience. Therefore, it is critical to find a middle ground between the old and the new, without erasing the past. In conclusion, public libraries should modernize themselves with high-tech media but there should be a balance between books and technologies. Additionally, the limited resources should be used wisely.