Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The creation of relationships has revolutionized, thanks to state-of-the-art technology. It is asserted that friendships that are made through virtual platforms are less valuable than face-to-face methods.I firmly agree with this notion since not only would not individuals be able to become familiar with other’s personality traits,but also there is the prospect of online phishing in this case. However, under no circumstances should the value of familiarity with foreign culture, which is made through this approach, be overlooked. To begin with, people ’s behaviour and reaction in face-to-face communication reveals their intrinsic traits undeniably. That is to say, only after friends interact eye-to-eye with each other can they understand their partner’s character deeply. If they have a background familiarity with their friend’s personality, they may get along with their negative aspects more easily. For example, in this contemporary era, a large number of young people have long-distance relationships while never have they met each other. A body of research supports the notion that this type of relationship will not experience strong bonds since there are likely to be many conflicts between partners. Consequently, the less face-to-face meetings,the less deep understanding of other’s personality. What is more,why this phenomenon is less meaningful is due to the threat of online fraud. In other words,societies can not rely on others in virtual reality as they do not know them as well. As long as we believe in those whom we do not know well, they might abuse our trust. For instance, many bank accounts have been hacked by online friends as people created video or phone calls with someone whom they did not know. Hence, this attitude results in a reduction in the value of online friendships. On the other hand,social media web pages promote social interactions with foreign people. This means, that international friendships,which is created online, may give people an opportunity to become aware of other countries' culture. Nevertheless, this information can be gained by watching movies. To sum up,Whether online relationships are as meaningful as face-to-face relationships or not is a controversial theory.I strongly agree with this assertion since although it facilitates societies to acquire information about foreign cultures, it might lead to online disasters and a lack of understanding of friend’s behaviour.