More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the way people are keeping themselves up-to-date is changing. It is widely reported that newspapers and TV news are no longer seen as a means of staying updated. Instead, most people are getting used to surfing the internet to get the latest information. In my view, this is indeed a positive trend. This essay will provide reasons and examples for my support. Firstly, establishing a tremendous number of paper-based magazines might affect the environment negatively. Particularly, people cut down trees in order to produce paper. Therefore, natural disasters such as drought or flood may result from such deforestation. Additionally, when it comes to TV programmes, they are only shown on the screen for a limited period of time. Consequently, it is extremely difficult for night-shift workers to enjoy their favourite shows or to acknowledge the world's change timely. Secondly, it is worth considering that online sources of news provide an unlimited range of data for readers. In other words, internet-based newsagents are more accessible and convenient compared to ordinary paper-based types. For example, people just need to go online and search for the news they are looking for regardless of their current time and space. Using these platforms will also gradually empower us to develop our digital literacy, which is an essential skill in the 21st century. As far as I am concerned, the benefits of networked news are extensive and far-reaching. To sum up, the habit of people reading online newspapers is replacing the traditional one. To my mind, such a shift is completely beneficial as online sources are more accessible, less time-consuming, and more cost-effective. For these reasons, I strongly support the inclination to obtain internet-based information in this digital era.