You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that newspapers are losing their popularity and soon become a thing of the past due to the Internet. In my opinion, the need for information that was provided by such media will not disappear itself, but it will change its form in the future. As technological development is really fast-paced, the need for curated physical newspapers is decreasing. One of the main reasons is the increased awareness about the environmental impact of newspaper production. To think, that on a daily basis, enormous amounts of copies are delivered to people and then read only once, which makes this practice very unsustainable. It is scary how much wood is used in paper production annually. Therefore, many publisher houses have digitized their issues and encouraged readers to get online subscriptions. Another shift is related to the increased popularity of social media and user-generated content. Digital platforms enable to post real-life information and generate open discussions, where people are able to express their opinions and find like-minded individuals. Such practices were not possible previously. Moreover, current events in the world have made people more suspicious of opinions and information written in official governmental newspapers, thus creating more value in content created by private persons. To conclude, I agree with the statement that the internet will affect the usage of newspapers, which sooner or later will become a thing of the past. However, the need for information about current issues will not change. Many traditional issues are digitized and the role of user-generated content as the provider of news will become more relevant and important.