Vehicle technology is advancing rapidly and cars that drive themselves have already been developed. In the near future, most people will use driverless cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a common belief that the automatic driving system will overtake real human drivers. However, I firmly believe that it is necessary and important for people to drive automobiles in the next few decades. To begin with, artificial intelligence still has a long way to go. This is because the technology of artificial intelligence can’t predict any future situation. To be more specific, it hasn’t reached the level to avoid every possible risk in daily transport. For instance, the well-known TESLA automobile caused a few car accidents due to the wrong calculation of the distance between cars, resulting in some people injured or even killed. On top of that, the legal responsibility is a complicated issue when the damage occurred because of the driverless cars. Due to the fact that human beings and vehicles are totally different in law, it is a philosophical question about who needs to take the responsibility and how much compensation should be claimed. For example, the famous assumption “Trolley Issue” uses this extreme condition to make people imagine how difficult it is to decide. However, after the AI makes the choice, there is always a debate about whether the person who owns the car or the company that made the car should take on the legal responsibilities. In conclusion, the inability of automobile driving systems and the difficulty of legal issues are the unsolved problems in driverless cars. For these reasons, I disagree that autonomous cars will become the primary trend in the coming years.