Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

Many believe that studying English in school is more relevant than studying other languages. Not teaching local languages could make them disappear for good. In my opinion, I consider that learning English is very important and it should be taught since first grade, along with the local language since it is the native language of students, representing where they come from. English is an extremely common language being taught in almost every school in every country in the world. Some might say that it is a universal language since everybody knows at least some of the basics. Given the fact that it is a well-known language, it is also spoken in first-world countries such as The United States, United Kingdom, and Australia, among others, so having the opportunity to learn it and speak fluently will surely open a lot of doors in terms of work-related matters, as well as education in lots of fields such as medicine, engineering, laws, marketing, etc. People who have a different language as their mother tongue usually tend to work hard, study English and immigrate to English -speaking countries to get a better life in different aspects. For example, CNN recently published an article about the rates of emigration from Latin American people to the US going from 35% in 2010 to 55% in the year 2022, regardless of their occupation. In spite of all of this, I strongly believe that local languages should also be taught in schools since they represent where someone is from, their roots, culture, race and, of course, it is their means of communication. For instance, here in Ecuador, the native language is Spanish, but there are some areas where the language spoken is Quichua, which represents the culture of indigenous natives. In order to do that, the government of the country could make changes in the Public Education Ministry and encourage educators to set campaigns and dynamic activities that promote the importance and value of learning local languages, as well as create laws that establish teaching schedules with the same amount of hours for both English and local language. In conclusion, English is surely a very important language to learn, however, this does not mean that local languages should be left out of the education program of teaching centres. Implementing campaigns and dynamic activities will help maintain them. It is equally important to teach pupils both