Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

To start with, it is true that nowadays it is becoming more frequent for sick people to avoid going to their doctor and try alternative methods and treatments. I believe this action is highly dangerous, as normal people are not qualified to medicate themselves and in some cases, it could be fatal. Firstly, ill patients often look for solutions on the net. There, you can find real help published by professionals which can help cure them, unfortunately, there are tons of fake news. You can search for any solution from a headache,to cancer and still be able to find any kind of pseudo-cure that you can think of and consequently, worsen your health. For instance, a study conducted by the University of York in 2020, found that 20% of the so-called cures on the web are fake or not proven. Secondly, the doctors are there to help us when we are sick. It means that they are professionals, they have studied for a long time, and have enough experience and resources to treat us. Medicine is evolving, and fortunately, we possess new machines and treatments that are already proven for our welfare. For example, an article from the Medical New York Post showed that an average person with a hard headache, and without knowledge of medicine, takes painkillers 95 per cent of the time without consulting any doctor and 3 per cent of them have fatal consequences. To conclude, I wholeheartedly criticize the fact that those who start healing themselves instead of consulting a doctor. This is because the doctors are already professionals and know the right ways of treating you and then also it is dangerous looking for solutions on the internet where you can find whatever.