Many university students nowadays live away from their home and their parents because of their university location, while others live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Gone are the days when students left their families and hometowns to study. Nowadays, it is evident that most university students prefer to live away from their parents and homes whereas a few others do not prefer to relocate because of their studies. Both situations have merits and demerits. Needless to say, in this contemporary competitive era, education and career have become the highest priority among students. As a result, education seekers are not afraid of relocating to new cities to enrol in universities to get a better education and have a great career. Firstly, this action of students makes them not only more self-confident but also more independent as compared to the students who prefer to stay with their families. Secondly, leaving their homes provides them with an opportunity to explore themselves as well as their capabilities in this competitive world. However, there are also chances that, due to living away from their parents, youngsters may get depressed and find themselves involved in a more hectic lifestyle. The situation where high-school graduates are willing to live with their family members and study at their hometown institutes comes with a plethora of benefits despite the fact that these graduates are not enrolled in a top-notch university. For example, youngsters feel more secure while living in their homes as they know that their parents will always be there to support them financially and emotionally. Nevertheless, every coin has two sides and this case is no exception. In the long run, these students might not be able to succeed in their lives or earn the same salary package that other students who graduated from famous universities earn. In a nutshell, even though there are several advantages and disadvantages of each situation, education seekers should go with their personal preferences.