Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Research has proven that the majority of offenders have low levels of education, thus educating these people might make them more likely to be employed after prison. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. Some people might argue that certain criminals such as those with mental illnesses cannot be rehabilitated, hence allowing them to reenter work environments might be detrimental to the development of companies. Furthermore, the required knowledge to be employed in well-paid occupations generally needs years of studying from a young age, when one’s cognitive abilities are at their best state, to obtain and master. This makes teaching these kinds of knowledge to convicts, who are mostly over the age of 18, seem like a virtually impossible act. However, captives with psychological disorders are of the minority and could be distinguished and disqualified from educational campaigns according to their medical records and behavior. Additionally, prisoners could be employed in the bulk of minimum to average-wage jobs as they do not require high-level education. Granted, providing inmates with proper education can potentially curb the number of prison escape attempts and cases of violence between prisoners, which are typically caused by a lack of purpose. This is because it does not only give convicts a useful activity to participate in and kill time, but also possibly grants them a concrete goal to work towards. In addition, education makes prisoners well-equipped in terms of awareness and knowledge, which could help them thrive in the outside world and not be forced to resort to felonies to make a living. Hence, this directly contributes to the act that immensely decreases the number of petty crimes like theft or burglary. This is evidenced by Japan, where inmates are given thorough workplace training throughout their time of service, which played a prime role in stultifying this country’s crime rate, making it the nation with the least amount of criminals worldwide. To summarize, while it is undeniable that a minority of criminals should not reintegrated into the community, providing proper education can undoubtedly rehabilitate the majority of convicts, which could ultimately result in a considerable decline in crime rates.