The only reason for people working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the purpose of working has been a controversial topic. It is commonly said that people go to work daily because they solely want to have money to live by. However, I completely disagree with this belief. This essay below will provide reasons for my disapproval. Firstly, a person's career choice can result from his personal preference. In fact, some jobs do not offer a high salary but yet there are still many people working in those areas. For instance, it is usually believed that artists do not make a lot of money unless their paintings become globally recognised. Van Gogh, to be more specific, had to live a miserable life when his work was still unknown to the public. Yet, he did not change his job and was still very persistent in drawing because it was his favourite. This is an excellent example to prove that people work hard, rather than to become wealthy, to fulfil their gratification. Secondly, the need for respect and success can lead to the hard work of some people. It means that when you are a senior worker, other collegues colleges have the proclivity for looking up to you. For example, since you have been used to doing the same tasks, you can meet the employer's demands more quickly and effectively; therefore, new workers will come to you and seek for advice. In this case, the feeling of being admired is instilled and thus, you are trying to perform better at work gradually. This demonstrates that people become hard-working as they want to receive more compliments and admiration instead of earning money. To sum up, the common belief that every goes to work just because they want to get paid is not always true. In my view, I strongly disagree with such a notion, as I believe people can choose a certain career as they enjoy doing it or simply because they want to feel needed and respected at work.