Societies produce more and more waste as they become more developed. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

The more a society develops, the more its waste piles up. Why is this worldwide phenomenon inevitable and how can we tackle the problems rising from the increasing amount of waste? To begin wiht, the development of a country necessitates manufacturing and labour. In other words, it requires the construction of plants that manufacture commodities and produce energy to run the factories. In most cases, developing countries, whose backbone of economy is importing products at low prices, rely more on unsustainable energy such as fossil fuels or coals to operate the machines at plants. In this process, they generate toxic pollutants and gas emissions, contributing to global warming. Secondly, as a society blooms, its populations grow. As individuals produce waste in their day-to-day lives, it is unavoidable that the rise in the number of people lead to a surge in the amount of waste. Even though it seems hopeless, there are still several solutions to address these ever-increasing amount of waste harming our enivronment. The most significant goal that all the developing nations need to pursue in agreement is sustainability. In the realm of energy production, if they shifted to use renewable energy sources, rather than burning gasolines, the amount of carbon footprints would decrease dramatically. For instance, solar panels and wind power are much more sustainable options, leaving far less man-made waste in its energy production process. In terms of growing populations, there is still a breakthrough. If the level of individuals' awarness of environmental crisis rises, more and more people would buy carbon-neutral products, leaving less carbon footprints. In addition, by increasing recycling rates, even developing countries can reduce the amount of waste, which would have been otherwise discarded in a non-environmentally friendly way like dumping at the seaside. In conclusion, despite of the fact that the waste increases with the development of a society, we can still strike a balance between the development and environmental protection by prioritising sustainability in energy production and consuming commodities.