Societies produce more waste as they become more developed. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Societies produce more waste as they become more developed. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? The more a society develops, the more its waste piles up. Why is this worldwide phenomenon inevitable, and how can we tackle the problems arising from the increasing amount of waste? To begin with, the development of a country necessitates manufacturing and labour. In other words, it requires the construction of plants that manufacture commodities and produce energy to run the factories. In most cases, developing countries, whose backbone of the economy is exporting products at low prices, rely more on unsustainable energy, such as fossil fuels or coal, to operate the machines at plants. In this process, they generate toxic industrial waste and gas emissions, contributing to global warming. Secondly, as a society blooms, its populations grow. As individuals produce waste in their day-to-day lives, it is unavoidable that the rise in the number of people leads to a surge in the amount of waste. Even though it seems hopeless, there are still several solutions to address this ever-increasing amount of waste harming our environment. The most significant goal that all the developing nations must pursue in agreement is sustainability. In energy production, if they shift to using renewable energy sources rather than burning gasoline, carbon footprints will fall dramatically. For instance, solar panels and wind power are more sustainable options, leaving far less artificial waste in energy production. In terms of growing populations, there is still a breakthrough. If individuals' awareness of the environmental crisis rises, more and more people will buy carbon-neutral products, leaving less carbon footprints. In addition, by increasing recycling rates, even developing countries can reduce the amount of waste which would have been otherwise discarded in a non-environmentally friendly way, like dumping at the seaside. In conclusion, even though waste increases with the development of society, we can still strike a balance between development and environmental protection by prioritising sustainability both in energy production and in spending habits.