Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

After high school and before university, some students are interested in taking a gap year to travel or to work. From my perspective, having a chance to learn new skills and earn life experiences through a year of no studying outweighs the disadvantage which is losing the motivation to pursue education. On the one hand, a gap year provides students with a wonderful opportunity to learn new things outside of their comfort zone. By exploring more diverse cultures when traveling or working, students can enrich themselves with knowledge they didn’t know previously and expand their social circle. Moreover, a year of freedom helps them consider what they want to do next and be better prepared for the future. For example, not only can a graduated high schooler who works a job abroad gain work experience, but the student can also acquire a better outlook on life. On the other hand, many students often get used to working or traveling and refuse to return to a life of study after a year off. They either become lazy or think tertiary education isn’t worth the effort, so they go straight into jobs that are beneath their capabilities without thinking about the long-term prospects. For instance, a survey by the British Government found 26% of students who take a gap year never enter tertiary education. All in all, gap year has its merits and demerits. In my opinion, as long as students have firm determination and a passion for studying, the benefits of gap year will always outshine the drawbacks.