Some people think most crime is the result of circumstances. Others believes that most crime is cused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

There are a number of factors that contribute towards criminality. While some people argue that wrongdoing is the result of the situation around, I side with those who feel that sometimes there are naturally bad individuals, who choose to be offenders. On the one hand, it could be argued that criminals mainly have underlying motives based on complex situations, such as poverty. Living in poverty could lead human being to many socioeconomic issues, including a higher number of committed crimes. For instance, a man who experience financial setbacks may choose to commit burglary as a way to meet their basic needs. In addition, a low-income society is more vulnerable to illegal drugs due to its lack of literacy. As in Indonesia, research shows that drug addiction is more common in low-income families. On the other hand, I believe with those who think that some human are originally have bad characters for two main reasons. Firstly, most of the criminals tend to be aware of what they are doing, but still choose to do it anyway. For example, a burglar needs to do thorough planning before their action. Although it needs almost the same effort as working professionally, they still choose burglary as the easier way. Moreover, there are also special criminal cases like serial killers. Serial killers kill their victims not for survival, but purely to satisfy their personal desires. In conclusion, while there are offenders who are the result of external circumstances, most of them are against the law with full awareness. Therefore, having considered both sides, I remain firmly convinced of the idea that there are people who are originally bad and choose to commit crimes.