Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can is better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading.To what extent do you agree?

Some people hold the view that engaging activities with students enhance their comprehensive skills progress and imaginative ability more than reading. In my opinion, I believe that both activities are necessary for children's development. To commence, off-school activities bring benefits not only in improving physical health but also in learning soft skills. It is obvious that activities such as football, basketball, and tennis help children stay fit and prevent diseases such as diabetes or obesity. Additionally, extracurricular activities are likely to be useful in gaining basic daily skills. For example, if children participate in voluntary work, they could have opportunities to learn communication and caring lessons from people outside their immediate society. At the same time, I also believe that there are numerous undeniable advantages for overall skill development if we encourage students to do more reading. First, reading helps individuals develop critical thinking. No matter what material they read (books, newspapers, journals, etc.), these sources usually have logical outlines and clear sentences that often stimulate children's independent thinking process. As a result, they will generate their own thoughts and will not need to rely on others when making decisions. Secondly, people who read more can develop problem-solving skills. Besides providing academic knowledge, many books also mention case studies related to that knowledge. Consequently, students can find methods to solve problems quickly if they have to face similar circumstances. In conclusion, I assume that both reading and engaging activities will help children develop their overall skills.