Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A plethora of individuals believe that the finest way to upgrade the well-being of the population is by raising the total of buildings for physical activities. On the other hand, others think that other solutions would be better for this problem. This essay agrees with the latter statement. Establishing a number of sports spaces will result in an increase in the frequency of workouts for people who are already working out and thus, it will improve their health, indeed. However, in my opinion, it won't influence the number of athletes, and this approach has only a restricted advantage. For example, in Chavdar, the village where I live, new football and basketball fields were erected last year. Nevertheless, this didn't raise the number of players, just made them train more often. Other measures such as promoting well-being and political encouragement of a healthy life could be more efficient. For instance, supermarkets can give a discount on a certain type of healthy food every month, supported with governmental funding, which will bring two positive outcomes: better diet and lower cost of groceries. Another good idea is organizing free prevention in a number of medical areas in every city or village around the world, which will help the population discover potential risks of illnesses and diseases. To illustrate this, five different types of doctors come to Chavdar every month to conduct free medical examinations and this led to a 55% rise in heart-related problems. In conclusion, I think that building new establishments for physical exercise can advance public health, but other approaches such as advertising and prevention would have a bigger value.