Some people think that when a person travels into a different culturethey should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

It is often thought that travelers should adapt to the customs and culture of their destination country. I agree to this statement but only to a certain extent as I believe that moderation is often key in these situations. On the one hand, when we travel, getting to know the culture and the local practices is often one of the main goals, hence to be actively part of them can be an engaging way to live the experience. It is also compulsory to remember that we are the guests in the country we visit and for this reason, adapting to some formalites formality and traditions often boils down to a matter of respect towards the locals. On the other hand, especially when visiting territories profoundly different compared to the west we are so accustomed to, we can come into contact with traditions that clash with our own. In this situations, it is often up to us to find a balance to stay respectful yet still true to our identity. Moreover, if this adaptive behaviour goes too far it could be seen as disrespectul or considered to be cultural appropriation. In conclusion, trying to merge with the people and the environment we are visiting can often be the approach that teach us the most about the host country. However, it is not always possible and taking it too far could be interpreted the wrong way. Overall, I strongly advice travelers to adopt this method but I also suggest to do so with care and moderation.