People nowadays work hard to buy more things.This has made our life more comfortable but it is a pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism. To what extend do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Today's world has become more materialistic than ever before, as there is no limit to one's wants and desires. To achieve a luxurious lifestyle and to exhibit it, the public generally loses their connection with the culture and traditions. I completely stand in favour of the notion. To begin with, the predominant factor among all is the money mindset. To put simply, one feels outdated and fears to lose its social identity if he/she does not own the latest gadgets or clothes when compared with their peers. In the lust for more green pasture, often it's seen that society leaves no stone unturned while choosing for the unethical ways. A recent survey concluded by the University of Cambridge showed that the younger generation has more cunning behaviour as compared to their elders. Hence, hampering traditional and moral values. In addition to this, culture and traditions are rooted in the social framework to maintain the relationships within which is of great importance. However, certain communities want to assert their individuality and superiority with their buying powers, narrowing down the gap of respect and tolerance towards each other. Thus, as social structure collapses, the underlying traditions take up the pressure of breaking. In conclusion, to satiate one's ever-growing wishes, it's inevitable for folk to compromise on their ethics and principles. Furthermore, bragging about their materialistic things when combined with ever-increasing purchasing powers, adds more fuel to the fire.