In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast transport for cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people are of the opinion that it has become a necessity that the government should invest money in building new railway tracks in order to build express trains, whereas others believe that the same money should be utilised to renovate the existing public modes of transportation for the convenience of the general public. Although the benefit of constructing new railway lines will improve the infrastructure of the country, but the modification of the existing public transport can be proved as a more efficient and cost-effective way of improving the transport of the country. On the one hand, it is advised that the government should spend a large amount of the national funds to build and develop new transport infrastructure. It can help introduce new and advanced technology into the country, which can resultantly provide a more convenient lifestyle to its citizens. Moreover, the new trains will be equipped with engines that can minimize travel time and make it easier for the citizens to use public transport. To cite an example, India inaugurated its first bullet train in 2020, which covers a distance of 1500km in just 3 hours, which earlier used to take more than 8 hours to travel, saving heavy travel time. On the other hand, the opponents believe that the government should concentrate more on the upgradation of public transport which is already in existence. The different modes of transport including buses, cars, aeroplanes and existing trains go through regular wear and tear, which requires regular maintenance and cleaning. This can be an efficient way to save costs for the country by just maintaining the existing vehicles and keeping them in a better condition. For instance, there are regular complaints posted about Air India Airlines on social media about the broken windows and poor hygiene standards in the aeroplanes, which leads to an unpleasant experience for its passengers. Thus, investing money in renovating the aircraft can be a helpful way to reduce the cost of buying new aircraft for the government, by just upgrading the equipment and maintaining them bi-monthly. In conclusion, I believe that on a global level, the country has to adapt to the fast-changing technological enhancements, hence adaptation of new and highly equipped transport modes can represent the country on a global level for its better infrastructure. However, the government should also pay attention to maintaining those new and old transportation modes in order to ensure they last long and run effectively and efficiently.