With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Reading a book has been an appealing leisure activity for people throughout time. However, as society tends to be adapting to modernity, literature is enjoyed through the use of e-books. Although using this kind of artefact has many positive effects, I agree with the view that we should not stop buying paper books. The modern world is turning into a place where the inhabitants have an awareness of the importance of taking care of the planet. As a result, many changes are taking place. For example, the boost related to the buying of e-books is correlated with this respectful mentality. Amongst other advantages, the use of these allows humans to reduce the number of cut trees per year. Furthermore, another positive effect of this issue has to do with money saving. When buying titles through the use of a digital device, people can obtain them for cheaper prices. Nevertheless, even if this uprising in the acquisition of the mentioned devices can help readers and the planet in different ways, the negative effects are worrying from a humanistic point of view. For instance, every business related to the selling of printed works would experience a huge crisis, economically speaking. Apart from this devastating statement, we have to understand the act of reading as an artistic and sensorial experience. In other words, not having physical writing anymore means a loss of traditional ways of enjoying poetry novels or essays, which involves the feeling of having a work of art in your hands. To sum up, although the introduction of technology in literature can be advantageous in economic and environmental terms, I believe we should not forget the negative effects this may have for librarians and readers themselves.