Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

In the past 50 years, there has been a dramatic increase in the use of plastic from a small to bigger scale. It has caused more harm to the environment over its conveninence of use and has contaminated the world to an extend of endangering animal and hurting human life. However, an instant action by the authorities can control the situation and promote the individual level concern. First of all, it is an undeniable fact that plastic has piled up in tons with no existing methods for decomposing it in an environmental healthy manner. Today, for instance, the oceans are filled with plastic garbage and is destroying the marine life, such as fish are having heavy plastic materials in their bodies, animals get their heads stuck in plastic bags, suffocating and killing them. Moreover, although people try to remove the plastic from the face of Earth by burning them, but due to lack of knowledge this only rises the amount of harmful gases released and also destroying the soil. In short, plastic has brought devastating global issues from sea life to wild animals, every inch of the atmosphere is affected by plastic. Furthermore, different environmentalists are stepping forward and promoting the non- plastic things, in order to develop awareness among the masses. In recent years, people have shown more concern towards the deteriorating conditions which has directly impacted the wide use of plastic bags. Recently, students have introduced shopping bags made from biodegradable material and are spreading the word globally. Here, Government need to take some intimidating initiatives such as imposing a ban on things made from plastics, opening a new market for cloth or barn made bags and different environmental friendly material things. In conclusion, plastics are made using harsh chemicals and it takes more than a hundred years to decompose, destroying the natural habitat. With this increasing global warming it is high time to take action individually and by authoroties against the environmental destruction caused by the plastic trash and promote reusable materials.