It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree / disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

A commonly held view is that teaching children to identify right and wrong at an early age does not need a punishment, although some believe it is necessary to apply a certain level of punishment to help them learn properly. I completely agree with this opinion because it helps children to understand the consequences of misbehaving. However, the type of discipline they should receive depends on the situation. Mostly, children at a young age do not fully grasp the outcomes of their actions when they have tantrums, throw things or hit their friends. If we do not address such violent behavior properly, it can spiral out of control and even lead to serious consequences. Teaching children about the effects of their actions is essential, starting from a young age; otherwise, they may become more prone to violent behavior. There are two types of punishments, positive and negative. Some positive punishment can be confronted with several benefits. Firstly, in school, teacher are entitled to give beneficial discipline to their students who did bad things such as being late for school or bullying, by giving mild punishment such as doing some reflections to reflect what is right or wrong. On the other hand, parents at home give a time-out system whenever the children do something wrong or bad and ask nicely the reasons why they did it. To summarise, punishment is necessary to properly teach children how to behave. However, the punishment may apply differ based on the situation. Therefore, it is clear that at school, teachers give them mild punishment by having them do self-reflection on the aftermath, while at home, parents implement a time-out system.