The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the production of consumer goods results in more and more harmful to the environment than ever. This damage is due to the high levels of consumption and the use of certain kinds of energy, such as petroleum and coal. In the modern world, people are induced, by advertisements, to buy things that they do not need. Actually, we buy more products than it is really necessary to survive or get a comfortable life. This behaviour generates high demand for some types of products like mobile phones, cars, clothes, and electronic gadgets, for example, which generate high levels of garbage, when it is disposable. Moreover, the production of these goods results in several damage to nature because they need huge amounts of energy. Quite often, this energy is generated by sources which increase the pollution and contamination of rivers, oceans, and air. As a result, this pollution can kill many species of plants and animals. To solve this problem, the government and public authorities worldwide should control and restrict the use of some sorts of energy, stimulating the use of renewable energy sources, such as solar, wind and biofuel. Furthermore, all nations should make stricter laws and inspect compliance, applying fines to the companies and countries that fail to comply. Another action that could be done, is to promote the reusable of products and changes in consumption patterns. In conclusion, the production of consumer goods at elevated levels is very harmful to life on the planet. Several actions can be taken to avoid or at least minimize this problem, especially changing the standard of consumption and choosing new sources of energy.