Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that there are constant traffic jams in many cities around the world. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

In this modern world, it is well-known that the number of car owners has risen dramatically over the past three decades, following that congestion has occurred in many cities globally. As far as I am concerned, I believe this fact is completely true. Within the scope of this writing, many arguments will be discussed carefully to prove my present and how they can be overcome. Obviously, there is a close relationship between the total of vehicles on the street and the traffic jams issue. The most important marker is that the more cars run on the road, the less their speed decreases. Besides that, intersections with high population density usually make the line of transportation longer, especially long vehicles, and contribute to congestion. Moreover, the growth rate of having individual cars from citizens has increased sharply recently, but the development of infrastructure cannot catch a high traffic volume, so congestion is unavoidable. On the other hand, the governments play a vital role in encouraging people to use public transportation by following methods such as applying high taxes for buying cars and limiting car parking lots in the centre city. The first striking feature is that the car is categorised as a luxury item, and one has to pay more money to own it. Along with that, the quality of buses and trains should be improved, for example, by setting up air conditioning or adding more routes and frequencies. Another good point that could be considered is that restriction on the number of parking spaces also causes inconvenience to people who want to travel by their own car. Indeed, if parking is difficult to find, they will use an alternative transportation. To sum up, I totally agree with the fact that when car ownership rises up, the traffic jams also grow. They can create difficulties, but if adding more tax on purchasing cars and reducing parking lots are conducted, people would use public transportation.