Write about the following topic: Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the 20th century, the rich is becoming richer and the poor is becoming poorer. This gap is becoming wider and every nation has a different approach to deal with poor people. What role should the governments of different countries play to help erase this gap? Further, various reasons of world poverty, and how the needy can be helped is explained briefly in the subsequent paragraphs. Needy and poor citizens in a country reflect the poverty and failure of legislature in certain aspects. The elected party is chosen by the citizens, and it is their responsibility to look after its people in hardships. Homeless and poor people are dealt in different ways in every nation. Some counterparts of the society believe they should be given respect while others oppose it. To lay down an example, Canada, a developed nation has done a lot for the people in need. From building shelters to providing meals and clothes to poor people in COVID-19, the government fulfilled the basic requirements at that time. On the other hand, maximum number of deaths were reported in India during the pandemic, due to shortage of oxygen cylinders and the rich people were given preferance as poor people were able to afford the oxygen cylinders sold at high prices. Substantial reasons for world poverty begin when the public sectors turn into privatisation. Wealth dominators of the countries are given various benefits by the legislature and therefore they become more rich. To illustrate, privatisation in India is at peak in todays time. Railway sectors and factories which were once under the government are being privatised and given to Ambani and Adani group. What's more is, these groups have more power than the President in India. In addition, taxes are layed played off in one or the other way for these groups but the farmers and other poor people are offered loans at a high rate of interest. Failure to pay the ROI lands them in deep trouble. What can be done to shorten the gap is increase the taxes for rich people and lessen the taxes for needy citizens as they do not have enough funds to pay these taxes. More and more schemes and benefits should be given to these people and the basic needs can be fulfilled by the ruling party. To conclude, the poor people have no respect in todays time and the gap between rich and poor is widened with the involvement of governments. With some measures and imposition of high taxes on rich people, the tax money can be used to help this needy population and the gap can be shortened.