Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road saftey. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days the more cities make progress in the development process, the more the way citizens use vehicles becomes important. Therefore, it is argued by a group of people that the best approach for enhancing driving standards would be forcing all drivers to take regular road courses for safety reasons. On the other hand, some other individuals claim that only strict punishments are effective and would prevent drivers from driving in dangerous ways. In my opinion, a balanced approach would cover all issues here. To elaborate, although, cultural acts such as regular safety courses are needed, strict punishments which cause reckless drivers costs would be a practical option that are needed in some case too. Generally, both groups of people that emphasize punishments and taking safety courses for bad driving and improving driving standards, have good intentions. They probably know that many road accidents that cause increasing death rates are mostly because of bad driving behaviour. However, what both groups fail to consider is that improving driving standards require both cultural and practical act from the government. Due to this fact, governors should realize that making improvement in driving standards need changes in social policies. They should go after social scientists and get their opinion on what is the best way of enhancing driving standards. Also, they should consider this concept as an intersectional field which requires both sociological review and law-related regulation. As a matter of fact, the best way to decrease bad and dangerous driving is to use a balanced approach that covers all issues that are neglected by each of those arguments solely. In conclusion, despite the fact that regular safety courses and strict punishments both can be effective for reckless drivers they are not enough if they do not complete each other. As I mentioned above, making improvements in driving standards need an intersectional and balanced approach by governments to make drivers follow rules as a habit and also, by charging them in cases that are needed, prevent them from repeating bad driving.