In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why this might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People in some countries believe that it is essential to be an owner of a property rather than a renter. This essay will discuss the rationale behind this belief and argue that the statement is disadvantageous for some groups of people. In many countries around the world, owning a home is seen as a sign of economic stability. Many people believe that having property means that a person has earned sufficient money to live comfortably. Such a situation is important, especially for people who live in Asian countries, such as China, Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines. To cite an example, in Indonesia, one of the prerequisites for parents to allow their daughters to get married is their future husbands must be financially stable. Having a house or an apartment is one of the obvious indicators. As a consequence, Indonesians, especially men, work really hard in order to achieve this goal. While it is true that the ability to buy a house indicates a comfortable life, the current economic situation in the world is not in favour of this belief. The price of a property is generally extremely high and many people cannot afford to purchase a house. For instance, in a research published by a think-tank in Indonesia, the majority of office workers in Jakarta would not be able to buy a landed house in the Jakarta area because its price has reached billions of rupiah. People who live in Jakarta have preferred to rent houses or apartments due to this circumstance. Consequently, Jakartans are perceived as not living an ideal life. In summary, the belief that it is crucial to own a home is rooted in an economic perspective. However, such a notion has created a negative impact for many because they are not able to live a life that fulfils society's standard.