People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how these problems can be tackled?

More than half of the world’s population now live in urban areas — increasingly in highly-dense cities. According to the UNCTAD data, the share of urban population worldwide in 2022 accounted for 57%. The reason this indicator is rising is that the growing number of people tend to move to cities seeking higher-paid work and more opportunities. Deserting their home towns and villages they hope to find a good place for work and life. However as the city population is enlarging we can observe the pressure it brings to the city infrastructure – traffic congestion, air pollution, infinite queues. The other drawbacks that can be generalized as the social ones are city poverty, wealth disparity, different ethic groups concentration. The mentioned aspects can have a profound impact on an individual, so we have to find a way to do well out of the perks that cities give us and address its weaknesses. The first and foremost problem that should be tackled is avoiding traffic jams – we can use public transport, take a bike or scooter to get to our point of destination. It can also be convenient to find a job not far from your home, to rent a flat in the district with public amenities. Finding job in suburbs can also be a thing you can benefit from – when you head for work in the mornings and the afternoons the traffic goes the other way around so you don’t waste your time stuck in traffic. Overall the right choice of a flat in the district can protect yourself from a lot of problems – living in a quiet, safe area with all of the needed amenities would definitely make your life easier and more comfortable.