In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The discourse on the growing number of elderly in several nations creates a pro-contra. One group believe older generations bring setbacks for governments, while the other insists on its advantages to society. Although older people can be valuable resources for maintaining traditions and historical information, I personally believe that the setbacks from burdened healthcare costs due to the ageing population outweigh the merits. To begin with, the elderly play a vital role in preserving cultural traditions and knowledge. The generations who witnessed historical events can give first-hand, factual, and personal testimonials regarding the history. For example, many details about the Indonesian political journey from the Japanese occupation, the days after the independence, the rise of the New Order's reign, to reformation are gained from these elders. Their stories are often considered beneficial to the development of historical archives and many historians have utilised them to check the accuracy of history textbooks. On the contrary, this ageing population is the sole reason for the increased healthcare costs due to age-related illnesses. Moreover, since they have passed their productive ages, they do not contribute much to the national economy. For instance, illnesses naturally come and infect people as they grow older. A lot of money is needed not only to cure illnesses but also to prevent them deliberately through periodic medical check-ups. On the other hand, these groups of people are no longer contributing to the country's taxes, thus many economists consider them as burdens. To conclude, the ages of citizens of many places in the world are growing and people have diverse viewpoints regarding this matter. Even though there are several merits such as conservating cultural and historical trivia, I believe that the disadvantages of having older demography heavily outweigh the benefits with the increase of government expenditure to take care of their well-being is the most notable factor.