Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do? Thao

The environment is an important foundation to ensure the survival and sustainable development of living species including humans. With the development of science, humans increasingly touch nature, causing many consequences for the environment. These negative impacts not only affect the ecosystem but also threaten the lives of humans. Therefore, we must take action to save the environment. One of the main causes of serious environmental consequences is overexploitation of natural resources. Deforestation for farming and infrastructure construction has led to ecological imbalance, reduced biodiversity and increased greenhouse effect due to reduced CO2 absorption capacity of forests. According to statistics, every year, millions of hectares of forest are cut down, not only destroying the habitat of thousands of species but also reducing the ability to absorb CO2, contributing to climate change. In addition, improper consumption and waste disposal habits are also major causes. The huge amount of plastic waste from disposable products such as plastic bags and unrecycled plastic bottles has become a threat to the oceans life. It is estimated that about 8 million tons of plastic are dumped into the ocean every year. The government needs to develop specific regulations on natural resource exploitation, limit deforestation and control mineral exploitation activities to protect the ecosystem. There needs to be a mechanism to strictly punish organizations and individuals who pollute the environment, there deterring and minimizing violations. Each person should limit the use of disposable plastic products such as nylon bags, plastic bottles, and instead use cloth bags, personal water bottles or reusable products. In conclusion, humans should join hands to improve their quality of life and keep the future sustainable with clean environment