The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Day by day roads are becoming unsafe for the people who need to use transport for their daily needs. In most cases, drivers are directly responsible for accidents. If it is possible to give proper punishment to the drivers who have linked with any unsafe driving, the safety will improve a lot. At the same time, proper education can accelerate this improvement. The main problem with increasing the safety of the transport system is the minimal punishment for any accident. Bangladesh is a great example of that, where the highest punishment for an accident is three months in jail. As a result, drivers are more relaxed to do some wrong activities as they will not get a proper punishment. On the other hand, if the punishment level increases according to the severity of accidents, then they will remember to drive safely. Moreover, punishing one can educate others. When someone sees that his peers are getting punished for avoiding the traffic rules, then he will remember it in his case, which will lead him to follow the traffic regulations. On the other hand, proper education is also important to accelerate the safety of highways. For instance, most of the drivers of the Indian subcontinent are illiterate. They could not separate the wrong from the right and always tried to prove that they were correct. If it is possible to educate them that life is more important than time, they will consider safety rather than fast travel. Additionally, teaching of the importance of their lives for their families can play a vital role, because everybody is sincere to his family members. This benefit is possible if the rule is developed that for getting a driving licence, it is mandatory to pass a psychology test of these learnings. In conclusion, it can be said that proper punishment with appropriate education can lead to improving the safety of the roads.