Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

There is the observation that more and more species are endangered with extinction in the 20th and 21st centuries. It is agreed that human activity and increasing carbon emissions have taken their toll on wildlife over the last decades. This essay will shed some light on the issue and offer a few plausible solutions to resolve the same. The begin with, human actions exert severe pressure on the planet Earth and its resources. Numerous factories, throughout the world, were built in the last century and their production processes are contaminating seas and rivers on a daily basis. For instance, since Magenta Corporation transferred its production lines to the Odisha region in India, the population of rainbow salmon has decreased by 30 per cent over the last four years. To resolve such issues worldwide, people must adopt new regulations in terms of factory building standards and emission quotes. So, it would be the first step in the wildlife-saving journey. On the other hand, global warming and carbon dioxide emissions have come into play for the last 40 years too. Shrinking habitats are affected by continuous climate changes, and a bunch of species are forced to find a better place to live. For example, according to Jack Mayer's research, blue whales are spending more and more time in cold southern seas, adopting temperature adjustments. Moreover, they are at risk of being out of breeding due to all these changes. To tackle this problem humankind should raise awareness of the population and change its lifestyle. According to a Sydney University study, the best ways to help the planet are buying an electric car and becoming a vegan. To sum up, it can be clearly seen that the biggest threat to modern animals is we are. Because human is the main actor in climate change processes, we must take responsibility for our actions and make numerous alterations in our lifestyle and mindset. Fortunately, modern technologies are capable of creating as well as destroying, and we, as an intelligent species can apply them to recover our planet.