Some educationalists say that international school exchange visits will benefit all teenage school students. Do the advantages of this program outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, education has been a controversial topic that often divides opinion. It is commonly believed that exchanging students is a beneficial event for teenagers; yet, many others also argue that there are some disadvantages that arise from this activity. From my perspective, the pros of this trend can definitely outweigh the cons. The essay below will provide reasons for my belief. On the one hand, it is worth considering that such exchange visits might arouse culture shock. What is more, they may become homesick and isolated, resulting in a decline in their academic achievements. For instance, it is often reported that Asian students when travelling to Western countries can, inevitably, face discrimination, though not much, in society. Specifically, the prevalent stereotype that all Asian citizens are good at math puts pupils under great pressure as they always have to try their best to meet the demands of their teachers and other classmates. Additionally, not being able to use their mother tongue is another drawback. In particular, exchange students have to speak a global language in order to communicate with others easily. For some pupils who are not very fluent in such a new language, they might find it hard to adapt to this foreign environment. On the other hand, exchanged pupils have a great opportunity to go on a lifetime adventure. To be more specific, children can have hands-on experiences in practising the target language, trying exotic food, and understanding cultural differences. This will greatly help to abolish cross-cultural barriers and create a more friendly and thoughtful generation. In addition, these educational exchanges empower the young with civilised mindsets which they can later use to improve the country. For instance, they can learn how Westerners organise their educational systems effectively; then, they can recommend some changes to the curriculum when needed. By doing so, every sector of the country like economy, tourism, industry, and education, will be tremendously renovated. In my view, such a contribution is crucial to a nation's development. To summarise, creating exchange visits is an excellent way to educate students. Although travelling to a new country may result in pupils experiencing culture shock and a homesick feeling, their knowledge and viewpoint will be significantly expanded and enriched. To my mind, those exchanges should be considered as a key activity in our education.