The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn. Agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, it is argued that what determines the illiteracy level of a person is his ability to continuously learn rather than whether he is able to read and write. Personally, I disagree with this statement because basic knowledge of the alphabet is a crucial factor in understanding other people and to adapt quickly to the rapidly changing world. To embark on, the fast-paced lifestyle, which is a characteristic feature of this age, requires a fast adaptation to embrace change; thus, a certain level of alphabet basic knowledge is needed. In other words, many illiterate people need a quite long period in their educational processes compared to those who already have reading and writing skills because with age the ability of brain cells to receive, process, and keep information will gradually diminish. Consequently,if a person does not have the capability of reading and writing from a very young age,he may not be able to do even a simple task on a computer and he will be way behind his peers. As a result, they will confront a wide variety of challenges when they try to explore and use electronic gadgets. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists who claimed that about two-thirds of Iraqi senior citizens have abandoned mobile phones because they are struggling when they use it because they are not able to read instructions on how to use it and can not access to their online accounts due to the same reason. Moreover, having the basic information regarding alphabetical letters could play an indispensable role in securing an individual future. To illustrate, individuals with a minimum level of education are capable of engaging in the labour market because there is a plethora of jobs that only need a worker who can read and write to receive and send written orders and e-mails correctly, in spite of whether they continue their higher education or not. For example, in Iraq, applying for many jobs such as receptionist, cleaning workers, plumbers, and taxi drivers requires a basic educational background that allows workers to communicate clearly with their employers, customers, and colleagues. This example shows that reading and writing are instrumental tools to ensure a person will have a respectful life even if he is unable to continue his learning process. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, l can claim that learning and relearning are both important, but not as important as writing and reading skills because they are the primary steps in any learning process, and without it, a person might not be able to catch up with this sharply changing life. Additionally, the ability to understand the alphabet is an essential element in many fields.