Some people think that it is necessary to travel to learn about other countries. Others feel same can be learnt through TV and internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that you have to visit the country to acquire knowledge about it, whereas others claim that the same can be achieved via TV and the Internet. While I think that TV and the internet are significant sources for learning, I hold the opinion that traveling the country is superior for the same purpose. As we live in a digital age, we have access to almost all information. The knowledge related to abroad is not an exception. We can take advantage of various sources, namely TV and media platforms to get a plethora of data related to any country we want. We can read books, listen to podcasts, and even watch vlogs of others to fully immerse ourselves in the culture and traditions of foreign places from the comfort of our houses. Besides, many websites offer services such as virtual trips to any country. Google Earth can be a good example. You can see the panoramas of other cities by only clicking on them. Moreover, I have seen many museums around the globe offer the same services. You can wander around the corridors of museums and see the most famous artworks. Nevertheless, in my opinion, online sources are not enough to truly capture the essence of other countries. To elaborate, you have to be there to feel the skies, oceans, lands, smell, and so on. Our brains are wired to keep our memories for the long term if we can feel more emotions while we experience them. Therefore, many people I know who spare time for traveling know more than me as they get to indulge in different cultures and backgrounds. They witness everything around them firsthand with a myriad of feelings, so their journeys are more memorable. Additionally, as a person who was good at geography back in school, I have never been abroad. Thus, it feels like the majority of my knowledge is fading.