some believe that the development of technology and improved software allow us to translate between languages automatically. Therefore , it is not necessary to learn foreign languages any more. Do you agree or disagree?

s technological advances, people can use it to translate other languages, therefore foreign languages become a dispensable part for individuals to learn. The writer of this essay totally disagrees with this statement because translation systems can lead to misunderstanding and learning non-native languages will enhance cultural competence which improved software lacks Using technology to translate can make users misunderstand others' concepts. To put it simply, one word always has a different meaning, so it depends on context to understand, however, all the software can not identify and comprehend these situations so the translated version is not completely true. Not only that, idiomatic expressions, and context-specific meanings are the problems which translation systems struggle with. As a result, if people rely on this software, they will misunderstand the implications, leading to later consequences. Cultural competency is one of the vital values that individuals will get when learning another language. In other words, in the process of learning, people will comprehend and receive knowledge about cultural norms, history and societal values, which contribute people to creating effective and respectful conservation. Consequently, many governments put their effort into learning a second language to show respect and restrict impolite behaviours related to culture when communicating with foreign authorities. In conclusion, even with the development of technology, individuals still need to learn foreign languages as an indispensable study because not only the translation management software can not translate exactly but also people will understand the cultural value during the time they study language.