Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the advent of technology has been a controversial topic that often divides opinion. While many people favour the benefits of technological devices, others claim that their literacy skills can be affected negatively when using such equipment. In my view, I completely agree that the bad sides of the argument are far-reaching. This essay will provide reasons behind my belief. Firstly, overusing the auto-correction function has hindered people's writing abilities. Additionally, it also limits how people organise a sentence structure. For example, people do not have to carefully type a word as it will be automatically corrected if it is mispelled. Moreover, some applications such as Gmail provide users with pre-made grammatical patterns that they can use to write an email. Depending on it, people will eventually suffer from a loss of literacy capabilities. In other words, they are no longer capable of conveying their thoughts using their self-generated words and sentences. Secondly, how the world encourages a quick and convenient lifestyle has led to the appearance of abbreviations. Specifically, teenagers prefer texting extremely short messages rather than full sentences to convey their ideas. For example, instead of writing "See you later", they will type "C u l8er". This not only makes readers difficult to understand but also impedes their spelling skills. Eventually, being unable to spell certain words correctly is inevitable. Additionally, online or computer-generated conversations often contain simple vocabulary and easy-to-follow grammatical structures. This, although is to ensure that everyone will understand each other perfectly, is not academic writing and reading. Consequently, when being exposed to an advanced piece of article that requires intensive reading abilities, most people will find it hard to grasp the meaning of such an essay. To sum up, the growing need to use computers and portable gadgets for communication has had negative impacts on people's writing and reading skills. Such technological tools not only hinder our cognitive thinking skills in forming and spelling words ourselves but also create an extremely short type of language so-called the teenagers' code. The arrival of this newly invented dialect is, to me, unacceptable as it is completely opposite to our beautiful current language which has a much longer history of invention and examination. For all these reasons, I can strongly claim that overusing modern tools does more harm than good.