Many people believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of the modern city. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public transport.

Public transportation is one of the primary concerns of authorities in big cities. Many people are convinced that public transport is necessary to manage the obstacles associated with urbanization. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of this opinion. This development has several advantages. Firstly, public transportation systems have significantly contributed to traffic congestion reduction in modern cities. If the variety of private vehicles partly results in wasting time and traffic jams, public transport service can alleviate these problems. Instead of finding it stressful to drive individual means on the road, traffic participants can commute faster and less stressfully. Secondly, city buses and trains have the means to provide mobility options for many people. For example, people who have financial constraints, can not drive due to age, and the disabled. Therefore, mass transit has become their top priority option on account of its cost-effectiveness and safety Moreover, it has also saved the city something, especially the advantages of reducing large amounts of carbon dioxide and other toxic gases released from motor vehicles. However, the disadvantages of urban transport can not be denied. To begin with, not all areas may be served by public transit because of limited coverage. It is quietly challenging to meet the full needs of remote areas or less dense population places whose transportation infrastructure system has not been developed to be ready. Furthermore, public transport schedules sometimes have inconveniences for users. People in public traffic find it difficult to align with following the schedules of public services. For example, you are a part-time worker and finish your work at 5 p.m every day, however, the bus closest to your workplace has only a trip at 6 p.m. It is inconvenient for you because it takes you 1 hour to wait at the bus station. In conclusion, public transportation is very advantageous in curbing traffic jams and providing flexible mobility options. Besides, there are limited coverages and inconveniences in commuting by mass transit. Therefore, along with promoting sustainable development, the government must take full advantage of public transport services and overcome their limitations.