Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern days, sports are widely considered to be one of the most popular way to entertain the public. Contests, on a worldwide scale, are constantly organised with this exact purpose. Thus, a fair number of governments began investing capital in order to provide professional athletes with specialised facilities, uttery neglecting the option of doing so for a wider range of population, sparking a debate on the positive and negative consequences of this decision. On one hand, with regards to the advantages of a country setting professional sportsmen's goals ahead of common people's ones might vitally benefit the way it represents itself on the international arena. It is no secret that vigorously trained athletes are equipped with a set of perfectly drilled skills, which are later found to be tremendously useful. Therefore, in certain sports, where there is no biological advantage over one another, more economically developed countries, namely Germany, the UK, and France, are persistently outperforming states that could not afford investing in their own infrastructures. For instance, those three mentioned countries are ranked first, second, and third place, respectively in world football, whereas India, Kenya, and Moldova are nowhere near this, being, for most of their existence, floating at the bottom of this ranking. On the other side of the debate, citizens, who do not compete on a professional level, cannot be deprived of sports facilities, as it is a way to entertain the local population and maintain their physical health, motivating juveniles to be in constant motion and improvement. In my childhood, my friends and I would spend our time at each other's houses either playing video games or watching films. However, with the installation of a set of hanging bars in our common yard, we would start spending much more time outside, investigating the novelty and trying out new occupations. To sum up, despite having numerous strengths, this approach is a negative development as it excludes the broader population from sports opportunities and neglects the importance of inclusivity.