It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults?

Recently, people have been discussing problems related to unpaid work to support society. Some individuals point out that these jobs will help create different development for one area, while others claim that non-salary jobs do not have any beneficial rights for people who take them. This issue brings back various drawbacks rather than benefits for not only the young adults but also the community. Firstly, these careers are time-wasting. Most people think that they have to devote everything they have to get a degree, so they want to use their skills in a suitable place. For example, most students prefer having part-time jobs rather than doing unpaid work. They believe that it is difficult to have numerous achievements while they are studying at university. As a result, they want to find jobs that can offer a huge amount of money for their skills and talent than unworthy work without paying any money for them. In addition, people share the same idea that unpaid jobs are unworthy of their study time and knowledge. Nowadays, numerous individuals work in order to earn income which can help them bring up not only their kids but also their family. Therefore, unpaid work does not match their need in modern society. Moreover, they tend to make people feel unworthy of the enormous devotion they give. For instance, students are attracted to voluntary work because it can help them to develop their resumé, not because they want to learn new skills. In conclusion, unpaid work may give numerous benefits to communities, but its drawbacks will outweigh the advantages it brings. If unpaid jobs carry out some better advantages, there will be some people willing to join in these activities.