Some people think they have right to use as much freshwater as they want. Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your option

Opinions are divided when it comes to the freedom to use freshwater by people. Many individuals believe they can assert the right of generous usage of freshwater, yet others argue that governments should impose strict control on using freshwater. This essay will expound both perspectives, but as far am my opinion goes, governments should impose some restrictions as freshwater is a limited resource. On the one hand, access to freshwater is recognized as a human right. This means that all the countries who have formally supported the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights must ensure the access to safe water. Therefore, governments are obliged to ensure that individuals can enjoy their right to access freshwater to meet fundamental needs, in terms of drinking, cooking, cleaning, bathing, and sanitation. If governments restrict safe water’s access, then the act constitutes a violation of the human right to access freshwater. On the other hand, freshwater is a decidedly limited resource, and thus the usage of freshwater should be controlled tightly by governments. The planet’s hydrological cycle has been disrupted causing low rainfall due to climate change-induced disruptions. In turn, the source of freshwater is shrinking day by day. Apart from this, the demand for freshwater is increasing with the explosion of population and economic and industrial activities as well. Consequently, many express their grave concern about the scarcity of freshwater. According to the United Nations’ estimation, more than two-thirds of the world’s population will reside in water-stressed regions in the upcoming years. Therefore, governments have a rational justification for introducing tight policies in freshwater management. In conclusion, both views of the discussion have merits. In my opinion, however, governments should adopt a strict policy to make sure no one waste freshwater as the overuse of water can threaten the survival of our earth.