Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university. What might be the reasons for this? What are the disadvantages of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It has become a common practice with each passing year where students decide to gain some real life experiences before their academic year in university. This act is considered as a fruitful learning for individuals, to prepare them for a bigger journey and to obtain some practical experience either by work or travel. However, there are some differences caused such as lack of interest in education and not willing to study further. This easy covers all the reasons and harms of this practice. First of all, people today are becoming more aware and they opt not to follow the traditional path way of going to university right after the high school completion. Many parents and teachers agree and prefer students with some market experience or any travel history as they are more confident, interactive and eager to learn. For instance, such students have developed team building abilities and can handle pressure. It has been recorded that majority achievers who are good both in studies and extra curricular activities took a break prior the academic year in university. Thus, it is beneficial in a longer run, helping them build their resume in a prosperous direction. On the other hand, this trend has some particular drawbacks which can leave a long lasting impact towards the future of the individual. Firstly, joining in after a gap year takes away the essence of willingness to study and achieve, it takes months or even more to get back on track of academics. Secondly, some students who start earning, for them it becomes hard to quit and focus on studying, ultimately such individual leave studies and do not admit in university programs. Recently, the Wallmart's CEO stated that majority of the salesperson they have in the stores are high school leavers who did not continued their studies after break. Hence, it won't be wrong to say that this idea brings a bigger concern from the future perspective. To conclude, there are some people who prefer taking a break either working or traveling around before continuing their higher studies. Several progressive reasons and cultural diversity contributed towards this ideology although with some apparent disadvantages including refraining to obtain a degree is a big threat for the future of young generation.